everyday polaroid

the whirring in our everyday.

Tuesday: like a lady

with 8 comments

Most Sunday mornings, we go to the farmers’ market in our neighborhood. There are always a lot of puppies, and the Tallboys play on the sidewalk, and as far as the eye can see is a patchwork of Polarfleece jackets and stove pipe jeans. It’s very Seattle. I love the market. But lately it’s been sort of depressing, to tell you the truth. I like kale very much, but if I see any more of it, I am going to sit down on the curb and sob. All I want is a strawberry. Brandon has taken to giving me pep talks on the way there, just so I won’t make a scene. The winter isn’t so bad here, really; it’s May and early June. That’s when Seattle and Summer play their annual game of Hide and Seek. A single round takes something like six weeks, and it’s never clear who will win. Today it is 52 degrees and raining.

Anyway. I don’t mean to be a downer. This past Sunday, we did come home with two heads of new baby lettuce and a bag of sugar snap peas, which was a great improvement. I hesitate to say that things are looking up – it is 52 degrees and raining – but I am going to have some sugar snaps for lunch, and maybe I’ll feel more confident after that. In the meantime, I had to show you this bunch of green garlic. When we get home from the market, I always take charge and put away our loot – organizing the fridge is among my cheapest pleasures – and while I was unpacking our bags this Sunday, I set the green garlic on one of the chairs at our kitchen table. I just plunked it down, la di da. But when I saw it there, it seemed so happy and relaxed, like a lady in an old movie, letting her hair down at the end of the day. I had to take a picture.

Happy Tuesday, all.

Written by mollyorangette

June 4, 2008 at 3:15 am

Posted in molly, tuesday

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i’m squinting my eyes shut tightly and sending thoughts of summer your way.

    hannah

    June 4, 2008 at 4:03 am

  2. I understand completely. I live in BC and it’s been a chilly spring. It is so hard to be patient for summer! All I want to do is sit in the sun and feel it soak into my bones, which have been cold for 7 months. Once it gets here, it will be glorious and worth the wait, but in the meantime…

    Jody

    June 4, 2008 at 4:07 am

  3. I know it’s most likely not much of a consolation, but it’s mid-90’s and incredibly humid here today. People on the streets look like over-heated, limp versions of themselves and the over-airconditioned alternative inside doesn’t seem to do much more than give the sun soaked bodies a sad bump. Just to even out the last bit of winter’s slump for you, 52 and rainy sounds dreamy.

    brandi

    June 4, 2008 at 4:22 am

  4. i love the colors in this picture!

    kosenrufu mama

    June 4, 2008 at 9:08 am

  5. I love, love, love rainy days. But I love the Farmer’s Market, too. How about I send you some sun, and you send me some rain? I’ll make soup on your rainy day, and you can buy strawberries on my sunny day. Deal?

    Michelle

    June 4, 2008 at 1:58 pm

  6. organizing the fridge is a secret pleasure of mine, too. loving your everyday polaroid posts, molly.

    emily

    June 5, 2008 at 5:06 am

  7. i SO relate to this. we are in oregon, where the high temp today will be a measly 55, and the sky is grey. not even spring lettuce and radish helps when all i want is a fat warm juicy strawberry.

    gala

    June 6, 2008 at 1:16 am

  8. […] I chopped up that green garlic from the other day and made it into soup.  I thought about sparing it because it was so pretty, […]


Leave a Reply

