everyday polaroid

the whirring in our everyday.

Monday: eggs and salad

with 13 comments

I’m so happy to be here this week. Ever since it launched, I’ve loved the concept of this site, and the way the words “everyday” and “polaroid” look together at the top of the page. Last night, when I was thinking about what to write here today, I realized that I had never really paid much attention to my everyday until I started taking photographs. There is something about framing a scene in the viewfinder – even a very, very ordinary scene – that helps me to see it a little differently. It helps me to see the potential for beauty, rather than just my boring dinner, say, or my crooked stove, or my overflowing trash bag. Now that I think about it, really, I think that’s the reason why I take pictures: to see my everyday life from another angle, as something more graceful and intentional than it often feels. Because let me tell you, it ain’t so graceful. Or so intentional. You should see my hair right now.

This week, I am pounding away at a writing deadline and spending a lot of time at home, in the kitchen and at my desk, where I do most of my work. I’d like to share with you some of the scenes that cross my everyday path. Most of them will probably be in the kitchen, since that’s where all the fun happens, but we’ll see. The photo above is from a few nights ago, when my husband was out at work – he sometimes works for a caterer – and I poured myself a glass of wine and made eggs and a mixing bowl of salad. You can never go wrong with eggs and salad, I find. Even straight from the bowl.

Thank you so much for being here.

Written by mollyorangette

June 3, 2008 at 2:21 am

Posted in molly, monday

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fun! I’m excited to see what you come up with this week. And I am always amazed at how your photography DOES turn everyday things (a baking sheet, a fork on an empty plate, even some crumbs) into a beautiful little reminder to enjoy the simple moments.

    Alexa

    June 3, 2008 at 7:47 am

  2. nice to meet you, again, as always wonderful shoot!

    kosenrufu mama

    June 3, 2008 at 10:25 am

  3. i love your everyday shots, always. they tend to make me feel like i’m sitting there at the table with you. or maybe i’ve just dropped by to visit as you’re finishing your meal. and scrambled eggs. for dinner. with salad and a glass of wine. perfection.

    emily

    June 3, 2008 at 11:54 am

  4. Alexa, I so agree.
    Molly, I don’t know how you do it, but I’m glad you do. The scenes your camera captures are frank and in-the-moment, yet through a lens they appear delicate and striking, almost heartbreaking in their normalcy. I suppose Everyday moments pulse with magic, but at times it takes a Polaroid to see that truth.
    And yes, eggs and salad are a lovely couple. Eggs by their lonesome always baffle me… such simple little buggers but they evoke such damn unrelenting excitement.

    Lisa

    June 3, 2008 at 3:40 pm

  5. Molly:
    Ha! I eat salad from the mixing bowl, too. More often than I should admit. Sometimes I’m just too lazy to dirty up another dish. I’ve actually shared the salad bowl with my husband who finds it all a bit strange, but goes ahead anyway.
    BTW, I enjoy your posts.
    -Lisa

    lisa

    June 3, 2008 at 10:00 pm

  6. Perhaps I need a polaroid. I bought a sketchbook after reading “The Art of Travel with a Sketchbook”, for the very reason you mention above. It makes you travel differently, forcing you to slow down and capture the moment. By the way, that mushroom and mozzarella dish from Jamie’s Italy is my new favorite! My dream is to eat my way through Tuscany, sketchbook and polaroid in hand.

    Becky T. Lane

    June 3, 2008 at 10:58 pm

  7. hi molly. i thought that looked like one of your shots. welcome to the club. so nice to have you. xo

    jen

    June 4, 2008 at 12:38 am

  8. I would love to see your hair right now. You should take a polaroid of it and post it on your blog.

    http://www.stuffwhitedbagslike.wordpress.com

    chunque

    June 4, 2008 at 12:51 am

  9. What a treat! A whole week of posts from Molly rather than just one per week! I’m psyched!

    Zoomie

    June 4, 2008 at 1:06 am

  10. Lovely, Molly. I am a huge fan of your site. Nice to see your photos in a larger format, which they deserve. Lisa

    Lisa

    June 4, 2008 at 1:08 am

  11. hooray!

    jess

    June 4, 2008 at 2:58 am

  12. Molly, your photos definitely inspired me to go grab my dusty polaroid and start snapping again. Your photos always amaze me. Thanks for your recipes too!!
    Cheers!

    Veronica

    June 4, 2008 at 3:02 am

  13. Molly, so nice to read your Everyday Adventures over here. Loved the photo, as usual!

    Suzana

    June 4, 2008 at 7:11 am


Leave a Reply

